Board relation column linking to a deleted item(s)

Hello Community

What is meant to happen when I have an item in a board, to which another board in another item is linked (via a ‘connect boards’ relationship) and that item is deleted? sometimes i notice that the link to the deleted item is still present in the other board, causing some unwanted effect (incorrect summations in mirror columns, etc.)

I know deleted items are meant to be rare, but it is hard to prevent all our users from deleting items (e.g. when mistakes are made, etc.) Is there a way to gracefully unlink an item as it is being deleted?

Failing that, are there any plans to add a webhook (or a recipe trigger) for when a user deletes an item?

1 Like

Hi,
I think I’m having the same issue.
I recently noticed that when I delete an item which is referenced elsewhere (e.g. has an item linked to it or dependent on it), the reference stays (even though the item no longer exists and cannot be accessed for editing).
In my case I needed to move items to a different board as part of restructuring my board set-up. I thought the easiest way to do that would be to delete the original items (assuming the references would be deleted) and then recreating the references to the new location. However, since the references did not get deleted I had to manually remove them and recreate everything (for more than 100 items…).

I agree with you guys.

I think the expected result is that these item-links are also deleted when the item itself is deleted.

1 Like

…same problem here!

Hi all!

Thank you for all of your feedback here. I too was able to reproduce this issue!

As such, I would be more than happy to forward your feedback to our Product team so that they may take this into consideration for future iterations of our product.

-Helen

1 Like

Hello! Is there any update on this? This is a critical issue because some boards have hundreds of items and we cannot manually delete all the links one by one… We deleted the items permanently but monday keeps storing them somewhere else, so they still apear (and can be edited) in the ‘connect boards’ column

Hi @Helen
Any updates on this?
It is extremely dangerous to have these dead links still being visible after the item i deleted.
We are running festivals and concert venues, and many departments will not have updated information if the links are not removed automatically.
It is sad to see that I have to send out explanations to users with a check list just for deleting an item.

Please, please have someone look into this.

Thanks
Thomas

1 Like