Extracting start date from a timeline

Hello Community,

I am using N8N to automate something but I have run into an issue.

My goal:
When timeline start date arrives, move item to next group.

Since you simply cannot use the timeline start date in an automation for some reason or use it in a formula the correct way as you can also not use formulas in automations, I tried using General Caster to cast the start date to a new column but GC also does not support timelines, the support sadly has not been helpful either.

I have now tried doing it in N8N but since I am not a coder I dont know how to properly extract the start value from the timeline.
When I connect monday to it I can select the column, or column value, which shows it like this:
"value": "{"from":"2021-06-10","to":"2021-10-15","changed_at":"2021-02-04T13:03:05.221Z"}"
How do I extract the “from” from this? You can do functions on N8N using Javascript but as I said, I am not a coder and do not have a clue how to do it.

items[0].json.theZeitraum = items[0].json.column_values.find(x => x.id === 'timeline');
works to get the column values but as I said, I only need the from.
I also tried timeline.start, timeline.value, timeline.value.from, timeline.from but none of these work. I hope Mondayteam can help me.

By a suggestion I have seen your name, @MondayUsernonDevelop , may you assist me?

Hi @MNie!

Nice to meet you-- I work for the developer success team here at monday.com and would be happy to help.

In full transparency, I’m not familiar with N8N. I’m assuming the result you’re getting is in JSON formatting? If so, it would help to turn it into a Javascript object so that you can extract the different “fields” from the object, the “from” field being one of them.

Do you mind including a screenshot of what you’re getting returned?

Thanks!
Helen

Hello @Helen,
thank you for trying to help me.
When I get info from monday it looks like this: