Making resources selectable only once for a given date range

Hi all, I am brand new to Monday.com and need some help. I am testing Monday as a potential CRM for a client who has a bike tour company. Apart from guides/staff, the other resources they need to manage are bikes, vans and accommodation.
I have started focusing on bikes and figure if I can get Monday.com to work the way I need it to work for bikes I will be able to expand and adapt to the other resource types.
But, I haven’t figured out how to make Monday work the way I want.
What I would like to be able to do is, for each client on a bike tour with certain tour dates, be able to select a given bike code only once and only if it’s available.
Eg if the Tour dates are 2 - 9 May 2021 and the client’s name is Bob Jones, if I select the bike called 20HonzoSmall then no other customer would be able to select the same bike for the same or overlapping tour dates. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Currently, I have set up a Status field with a unique Code (Status) for each bike and can view bike usage in the Workload view. However, it is possible to select the same bike/status more than once for any dates, so this is not as full-proof as I would like. I have also considered using an automation but thought I would get some input from experienced Monday.com users first so as to hopefully now waste too much time going in the wrong direction.

Thanks in advance, Patrick

Hi @patrickfallon

Welcome to the community. To be honest I don’t think you can achieve what you want out-of-the-box. As you stated a resource (in this case a bike) can be assigned multiple times. I did created an app to prevent that but that app doesn’t take dates into account. If your use case can be made more generic I can always have a look to build an app that supports the more generic use case.