Managing App Versions and App Updates Specifically For Workspace Templates

Hi All,

I am working on a ticketing workspace for a tech company. I was hoping to develop and update the workspace offline in the app feature of monday.com while the team uses the live version. I need some guidance with making changes, and how to get those minor changes to automatically take effect on the existing installed app when a new version is promoted to live. Any help or guidance is appreciated.

Thanks!

Hello @JimmyBNG and welcome to the community!

I hope you like it here :muscle:

What do you mean “update the workspace offline”? You can not update any data offline. Are you referring to doing some changes in your app, in a draft, before the draft version is promoted to live?

What changes would you like to make in this draft, that you want to impact the users when that draft is promoted to live?

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Cheers,
Matias

Hi @Matias.Monday ,

Sorry for the confusing explanation.

Yes - I am referring to making changes to a draft before being promoted to live.

I am looking to make minor changes to a workspace template app using minor version drafts. Minor changes would include: column updates, feature and widget updates, new integration/automation recipes, view/layout changes, and other changes to the boards within the workspace that will not effect the users workflow.

I tried testing some of these minor updates using minor versions and after promoting to live, none of the updates carried over. I read through the app versioning guide, but, after some testing, it is still unclear what the capabilities and constraints are with updating minor versions - specifically for a workspace template app.

Ultimately, I am looking to optimize the workspace templates as my client’s team members utilize a live version of the environment and report back with update and feature requests. I hope this helps.

Thanks!
Jimmy

Hello @JimmyBNG and thank you for the explanation.

When you make changes to the boards of a workspace template features and then promote the draft version of the app to live, the changes will not impact already created workspaces in other accounts. Meaning that if another account used your app to create a workspace from your template, that workspace will not be affected if new versions of the app are promoted to live.

For the other account to see the changes, they would have to create a new workspace/board out of the template.

I hope that helps!

Cheers,
Matias

Hi @Matias.Monday ,

Are you able to explain the minor change description below?

Minor versions are for small changes that can be pushed to users immediately. When you promote a minor version it will automatically be added to existing users’ accounts.”

I do not mean to challenge you, but I just want to make sure I am understanding the full scope and parameters of versioning before I start investing a lot more time in it. What are the capabilities of a minor version, and how do they differ from a major version if the user will have to reinstall the template in either scenario?

Again, thank you for your time and explanation. You have been a great help.

Best,
Jimmy

Hello again @JimmyBNG!

The changes are pushed immediately when a minor version is released. This means that, for example in an app with a workspace template, after the new minor version is live, if the accounts that have this app, add a new workspace template from it, the newly created workspace will have all the changes of the new live version.

This will not affect already created workspaces/boards. This is mainly because it would not make sense since if this affected already existent workspaces, the new version would erase everything in the already created workspace and replace it with the new information in the boards (new items, columns and anything else in it).

It works in the same way for major versions. But with major versions, an admin would have to manually update the app to the new major version when it is promoted to live.

In the case of other features like, for example, a board view, the changes in minor versions are automatically visible for the accounts, because the change in the view does not necessarily mean erasing any data that already existed.

I hope that helps!

Cheers,
Matias

1 Like

Hey @Matias.Monday ,

Thank you so much for your clear explanation. You have been a huge help in answering all of my questions and coming up with a solution.

Thanks again for your time and patience!
Jimmy

1 Like

I am glad to help!

Let us know if you have any other questions in the future :slightly_smiling_face: