Structure of Workspaces, Board Folders, & Boards

I’m a newbie here and been reading through the documentation and practicing via the web page to ensure I understand query structure.

I understand how to query a list of boards and can get info of each board (i.e. board folder ID, workspace). I’m also seeing that you can’t filter your query by workspace and board folder.

Essentially, you have to retrieve all your boards then parse through that. That seems like a lot of overhead to perform to get a list of maybe 15 boards when you could potentially have 10+ workspaces with 100s of boards in each workspace.

I essentially have a need to pull the entire set of boards from a specific board folder in a specific workspace (also, I’m seeing that if the workspace is the default, you don’t return the actual ID/name of the workspace, you just return null - why is that). Once I have the list of those board IDs, I can then query the specific boards to get the data that I need.

I just don’t think parsing through 100s (or even 1000s) of boards to build a list of 10-50 boards is optimal.

Am I missing something? Is there something I can do better here?

Hi @BeauElliott, welcome to our community!

Thank you for this feedback. I’m glad to hear that you’ve begun learning and playing around with our GraphQL API. It’s always exciting to see our users want to try and become more technical.

No you’re not missing anything here. At this time, you are correct in that our boards queries do not have a folder or workspace argument that would allow you to reduce and “filter” out the boards queried to only return the ones you want (i.e. in the particular folder you had in mind).

As such, I’m going to move this into our Feature Requests subsection and submit this as feedback for our team. This is definitely something our team is aware of, and looking to improve in the future!