When i create a new item via api, it says my userid created the item, can it say the app created it instead my personal id?

When i create a new item via the api, it says my userid created the item, can it say my app created it (called SkyTrax) instead my personal id and email? as a developer, i don’t want these email notifciations to go out as being from me as that will confuse the users (and they will reply to me and who wants to interact with… users… ;-).

1 Like

Hey @barrycox,

Daniel here :wave:

Can you expand a bit on how you are creating / assigning the item over the API? Are you changing the column values with the ‘column_values’ mutation? If you could let us know or post your API query, we’ll take a closer look at it on our end.

-Daniel

yes, i’m using (in php):

mutation ($columnVals: JSON!) {
change_multiple_column_values (
board_id: ‘.$hskpg_board.’,
item_id: ‘.$create_itemResponse->data->create_item->id.’,
column_values:$columnVals) {
id
}
}’;

and sending $columnVals as a variable.

It would be great if this worked differently, IMO. I’m assuming that you are using an API token to authorize the operations. What we did was to create a user that is specifically for this. We use the token assigned that user for access. We even used the monday logo for the picture on that user.

Hi @barrycox, @JCorrell

I definitely confirm what Jim is saying. The API tokens are personal, so everything done with a token belonging to users XYZ will be done on behalf of user XYZ. Creating a “dummy” user can solve this in many cases.

oh, that’s a real bummer. so all of my user notifications will be reply to… me…

or i have to pay for another user and call it SkyTrax.

Hi @barrycox