Monday App Integration Quickstart, "Failed to load options"

Hey there, Monday Apps novice here…

I completed the quickstart guide for creating a custom Monday App Integration Feature, but when trying to add the example integration (“When column changes transform it [to upper case/to lower case] into text column”) I get a “Failed to load options” message.

So far, I’ve tried uninstalling and reinstalling the dev environment using the Monday quickstart guide and using the Monday example apps GitHub, installing all dependencies, and stopping and restarting the Node server, but have not been able to resolve the issue.

It’s possible I’m missing something obvious but cannot quite put my finger on what.

Hey! Here are some things to try:

#1 - Check if your URL is correct. If you restart the server, you’ll get a new tunnel URL. You need to keep that updated in your app config!

#2 - No useful errors on the client side. But are you getting any errors on the server side?

#3 - It’ll be useful to know if your server even gets the HTTP request. To do this, you can try logging each request in the console. Here’s how:

Start by adding a middleware function to src/routes/monday.js to log the request, so you can see what’s going on.

Your function can look like this:

async function loggerMiddleware (req, res, next) {
   let returnedData = await req.json()
   console.log(returnedData); // you may need to 
   next();
}

And then you’ll have to attach this middleware to each of your routes. Change lines 5-6 to this:

router.post('/monday/execute_action', loggerMiddleware, authenticationMiddleware, mondayController.executeAction);
router.post('/monday/get_remote_list_options', loggerMiddleware, authenticationMiddleware, mondayController.getRemoteListOptions);
1 Like

I am a noob. I had the same issue. Here are some screenshots they may help anybody else with the same issue in the future:

1. Create your new Integration feature