Employee time and utilisation tracking

hours available. Our employees contracted hours are typically 7.5 hours per day. I would like to track the utilisation of the time across the 7.5 hours to identify spare capacity we could schedule to help other teams.

I would also like to be able to report on this as hours helping other teams would result in some internal billing of time.

I have played around and think Monday might be a good fit, but have come across a few challenges.

1. Not sure how I can produce an indicator of time used against contracted time. I’m not very good with the calculations.
  2. Not sure the best setup for recording the tasks. I was thinking in a timesheet format coding to project/task, but I then have the problem of how do I make the timesheet reusable each week/month.

In an ideal situation, I would like to achieve something similar to Harvest which tracks time well.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.

Steven

1 Like

Hi Steven

Thank you for posting! I’m sure monday.com can work for your needs :slight_smile: and happy to help figure out the best setup for your workflow!

You can use a formula column to deduct the actual time worked from the contracted time column values. It would be best for me to see a screenshot of your current setup or as far as you have got, so I can advise on the best formula. This article is a great starting point.

We are also about to change our chart view to allow for multiple column values on the X axis which I think would be a great way to see actual time worked vs contracted time in a more visual representation. To see the capabilities so far, check this article out.

Regarding task tracking, can you give a bit more information on what these tasks look like? Are they recurring tasks which they do every week/month or are you just worried about the layout of task lists per time period?

Have you checked the time tracking column? If not, here’s the article about that.