Feature Request: Lock an item/row column

It would be hugely beneficial to be able to have an option for a lock that can apply to a item/row on a table.
There’s a lock feature per column available that will lock the column for all users and is only available to board owners.
The lock column could be a button that when pressed locks the fields set in the configuration from receiving any changes, but only for that specific row/item. Configuration settings would allow for any user on the board, any user in a people column on the item, or board owners only to apply the lock and what fields the lock should apply to.
Then once certain data is loaded onto the item we could lock those fields to not change until we are ready to change them.
This is useful in many cases, but most notably in-case of an accidental clicks.

Let me know what you think of the feature idea and how you might use it for your environment.

If there are any, I would be interested in knowing what limitations might prevent this feature from being possible.

Hey @APICaptain! Can I ask if our board permissions would help you achieve this? Specifically our editing permissions?

Essentially, only those assigned to the item will have editing capabilities - therefor for all users who are not assigned, the item will remain locked/un-editable.

Let me know what you think!

1 Like

This would also be useful to me as well. As we move items (rows) through groups the last group is the completed group and would like to lock these items from be edited in the future.

2 Likes

I definitely like the idea of being able to lock an item outside of any permissions set so will happily note this request to review internally :pray: We also encourage you to share this feature request with your peers/colleagues so that we can grow the votes and get this on the priority list at some point :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you for the suggestion to use board permissions @BiancaT!
I’m thinking of a way to prevent changes of specific records or fields until you’re ready. Users will want to be able to turn it on and off at will and with automations/triggers to prevent accidental changes of temporarily/permanently static data that lives on the same board as live dynamic data.

Thank you for sending the feature request through the internal channels!

1 Like

Agree that item locking (in my case the subitems as well) would be very beneficial. Usecase is to allow an item to be editted while in ‘draft’ and then lock it when ‘submitted’. Submission is sending the item to another board. If a change needs to be made, the item is unlocked (back in ‘draft’) and then can be submitted again. When unlocking we would increment the version number. This way we have a clean record of submitted versions of an item. Maintain clear status of ‘submitted’ or ‘draft’ in the feeder board. Prevent accidental modification to a given field while in submitted status.

2 Likes

This would be super useful. Locking for read only would be a GREAT function. Preventing edits on items that must be stored as archive or similar for historic usage only and no more edit or edit only by 1 persona and not many

1 Like

I have run into incorrect status change/button click which triggers something else on another board so many times. I have also used the board permissions but in my use case, I am not getting the desired result.
Use case: Using it for time tracking: When status changes to ‘Timesheet submitted’, create and connect item in the approval board and clear assignee(in time card board).
This works to lock the submitted record if you are not a board owner but it doesn’t connect with the Approval board.

Ability to lock a specific column on status change or item creation would be so helpful.

1 Like

I also wish there was a way to lock a status column so the status options are not edited, but everyone can still select the status they need. AKA i don’t want someone to go in and add another status option for everyone to be able to use. This creates a bit of a mess and would really appreciate this feature.

2 Likes

The Board Permissions feature allows for this behavior. Under Editing Permissions, try using the option for “Edit the board’s content without changing its structure”. Then everyone who is not a board owner will not be able to add/edit columns, groups, or automations.
I hope that helps for your use-case!

What is the status of this. This is much required feature and I have yet to see Monday.com respond to one of these community feature requests.

1 Like

Hi Mike, I appreciate you following up on this and apologies for the delay in addressing this request :pray:

I have reached out to our product team internally about the status of this development and will circle back here once I hear back.

In terms of feature requests within the community, every quarter we take the features with the top votes to our development team for a response. You can learn more about the process here, All you need to know about our feature request process! :smiling_face:

UPDATE @LipinsM: I have recently heard back from our developers who confirmed that at this stage I am afraid this isn’t on our immediate roadmap. That said, they’re aware of the need and will revisit the feature later down the track. Thanks for your understanding in advance!

1 Like

Adding a request for consideration of this feature; in connection - since this has been noted as not being on the ‘immediate roadmap’ - I heartily recommend making the various roadmap paths public so customers can make a more informed decision about how to use the product (and honestly if it is even the right solution for them).

2 Likes

Yes it would be useful. How hard can it be to implement?

1 Like
  • And lock drop down menus so new labels can’t be created.
    I’m having trouble with users accidentally creating many, slightly different versions of the same label…

Hey Carla,
Thanks for your input!
Have you tried using the Board Permissions features for your use case?
Especially see the section detailing the permission, “Edit the board’s content without changing its structure.”
This would limit the creation of new labels or other accidental structural changes to board owners.

HI Calum,
Thank you - I didn’t understand the extent of this permission, happy you cleared this up!

1 Like

The use-case for locking individual items after “submitted” is not covered by the “edit board’s content without changing its structure” function.

For example: If employee’s submit timesheets through Monday. It would be nice if once their timesheet is marked “approved” by a manager, that they can no longer change their hours. That’s hugely important for a functional timesheet system.

1 Like

This feature would be very valuable for task management in our business. We legally have to record dates and times for when a task occurred and are audited on a yearly basis. I would feel much more secure in the data if each item could be automatically locked when it’s marked as complete so that someone doesn’t accidently or maliciously change the data for their benefit.

1 Like

One thing you can do is when its marked complete, is move it or duplicate and move it to another board to which nobody except a select few have permissions. Not ideal but it will create a record that is not easily edited at least.

1 Like