Just a discovery about privacy settings for folders. It appears that in order to make a folder private, all boards within the folder must be set to private. Users cannot set up the folder initially as private. If any of the boards are public, then the folder becomes visible and that (those) boards that are not set to private will be visible. The private folders will not be visible.
The last sentence should read: “The private boards will not be visible”.