Need some help accessing item status

Hi - I’m new to Monday and am trying to use SyncHub.IO to query my data using PowerBI. It works great to have the Monday.com data in a relational format.

My issue is around the text column in ColumnValue table. I’m trying to use the text column to identify the status of items. I get a highly usable set of values most of the time. However it appears a null value in text has multiple meanings - an item that has not been started yet and an item that was deleted. Do I have that correct? I need to know what has not been started vs. what is has been deleted. I looked at the IsDeleted field that that doesn’t seem to help.

Thanks

Hey Bryan!

Sounds like SyncHub.IO translates each field in our GraphQL schema into it’s own DB table. Is that correct?

By that logic, “text column in the columnValue table” means the text representation of a status column’s value. Am I on the right track?

If my assumptions are correct, then seeing the value “” or null means that the status column is blank. You can cross-reference the item in the UI, and it should look something like this:

This doesn’t necessarily mean the item has been deleted, simply that it doesn’t have a status (either it hasn’t been started or it isn’t relevant yet).

Let me know if that solves your issue!

Thanks!! That does explain and is consistent with what I am seeing.

Do I need to look into ActivityLog to see if this column has had any activity? Any advice how to navigate this data to find if a column value has been changed manually? I see an event of 'Update Column Value" under a pulse event but not under a board event.