Our organization uses a template that is recreated for all new projects we run.
There are about 200 tasks that all have dependencies that relate back to 1 key start date.
There are 2 other key dates along the way that our users have been trained on setting to adjust the downstream tasks.
When a project is created the users are instructed to adjust the first key date and the rest of the project timeline will adjust to reflect the fastest time to market our teams can hit.
The issue is when users delete a date from the timeline column and then try to pick a new date. The established timeframe from the template is then ruined for that task and is out of sync with the others. This is definitely user error, but it would be a nice safety guard to prohibit a timeline column from being blank so users cannot delete the dates and must pick a new date.