Forms - Auto-populate fields based on user input

Hi,
I am looking for a way to facilitate forms data entry for our users.
For example, when user enters their name, I want to lookup for user’s phone number and email on a board and auto populate it into Phone number and Email fields.
Most of the users who have to fill out the form already have their phone number and email on a board.

I am new to monday.com and come from the database development world where this would be a simple task.
Please push me in the right direction.

Thanks.

1 Like

@Leon

You posted this in monday Apps & Developers. Are you looking for ideas on how to do this using the API or how you might do this with base monday?

If the latter, I would start by considering how you might use one of these automations:

… or VLOOKUP Auto-link App in the monday marketplace.

If the former, unless you want to create a custom app, I would recommend creating an integration with Integromat.

Jim - The Monday Man channel
Our Latest Video: POWERFUL Item/Subitem Templates with Integromat - YouTube

1 Like

Hi,
Monday “forms” currently dont support pre-filling… which is a pain. They are currently fairly basic way of entering a new record, and dont have the ability to lookup in other tables/boards, as they are really designed for “new request” forms rather than true data entry.
HOWEVER
Rather than using the forms, if people fill directly in to a board/view you can they use automations, lookups, link columns etc to do what you want, but you loose the form view.

1 Like

@Leon

At this time, your best bet would be looking into the “match and connect” recipes that Jim has pointed out. Those would act as a Lookup function, even for items created via Forms.

That said, the monday Apps & Develoepers section is indeed dedicated to using our Apps Framework, API and No/Low-Code solutions like Integromat or Zapier. As such, I think you’d have better luck in the Workflows section - I’ve moved your request there :slight_smile: