Remove the clear/delete cell icon

Would it be possible to remove the clear/delete cell icon so we don’t accidentally clear the contents of a cell? Also, since there’s no Undo function, having UI items that delete information doesn’t seem like a sensible idea.

As a design choice is baffling. Really, how often do you need to wipe out data that you have entered, and how much time do you save by using this icon instead of selecting and deleting? At least put this in the right-click menu so people can’t click it by mistake.