Auto populating custom columns

We have created two custom fields for Sanctuary and Region. Is there a way that the region field can be auto populated based on the sanctuary response that is selected from the drop down menu list?

Thanks

Hello @D_H80, David

Welcome to the community. From your question it looks like you are talking about custom fields in an integration app. You can setup dependencies between custom fields so the region dropdown list gets populated by the value chosen in the sanctuary field.

To do that you need to populate the region field from within the app. Are you looking how to setup such a dependency?

Hi Bas, thanks for your reply and suggestion.

I had a look at the dependancy option before I posted on here but I couldn’t find one that had an β€œIf A add XXXX, if B add XXXX, if C and XXXX etc.” option within the same board. That said, I’m new to Monday so it might be there and perhaps I missed it or missundstood it’s meaning.

We have created a drop down list for the region and the sanctuary already, so I am hoping that there is a simple way to connect the two.

hi David,

It is possible, but the question is: is it simple? :slight_smile:

Where / how did you created those drop down lists? In the board (column) itself, in the customfield builder or are you building an app yourself?

So basically, there doesn’t seem to be no internal way to let one field be a copy or result of a formula from another field in the same row without external tools like Integromat. Is that correct? It would be hugely helpful if that was a native automation.

Hi Bas

We created a drop down column and then added in the list options we want to display and then savd the column as a template so that we can add them to all boards across the organisation.

It’s never simple, but then very few things in life are, especially the ones that are worth pursuing!

Hi David,