Bring current GPS location into monday

There was recently a thread about bringing GSP location data into monday. It was intriguing to me. So, I took a stab at it. I was able to get it to work. For anyone interested in pursuing this, here is what I did. (I am NOT a web coder!)

1. Created an Integromat webhook
  2. Cobbled this together:
<html>
<body>
<script>
window.onload = function() {getLocation();};

function getLocation() {
  if (navigator.geolocation) {
    navigator.geolocation.getCurrentPosition(showPosition);} 
}

function showPosition(position) {
const Http = new XMLHttpRequest();
const url='https://hook.integromat.com/987435498374598734rgkjhdffgkjdfoie4';
Http.open("POST", url);
Http.send("Lat:" + position.coords.latitude + "+Lon:" + position.coords.longitude);
Http.onreadystatechange = (e) => {console.log(Http.responseText)}}
</script>
</body>
</html>

To further the idea I would put a link to this ā€œwebsiteā€ in the URL of a monday board column (passing needed parameters to identify the user,item, etc.)
Those parameters would also need to be passed to the webhook.
From there, itā€™s pretty simple. All the user would have to do is click the link in the monday board on their phone.

Jim - The Monday Man

8 Likes

Hey @JCorrell :wave:

Thatā€™s pretty awesome! Thanks so much for sharing a solution users could apply to their workflow right away. I appreciate the ā€œopen-sourceā€ spirit here :slight_smile:

Thanks for taking a stab at this workflow and sharing the results with us, Iā€™m sure other community members will find it helpful!

-Alex

1 Like

Hey JCorrell,
I am new to Monday and everything. I am somewhat lost and would appreciate some assistance on how to setup the webhook on integromat, so that I can add a location a column based on the gps position from the phone.

I already struggle setting up the webhook.