Overall Board Structure

I am new to Monday.com and struggling with how to get started on a project. I am wanting to create a tool for my estimating department to track projects. They will be working on 10 or so projects at a time with each project lasting 10-20 working days. We track each project through a 20 step process and different estimators will work on different phases of each project through the estimating process. In addition to team members within the estimating department, there are other departments that will occasionally be assigned tasks necessary to complete the estimate. How can i setup the boards to allow me to see an overall utilization of each estimator and a summary of where each project is in the process to help determine utilization and capacity. I would love to have a dashboard that visually displayed this information.

I am really struggling with how to structure the boards to allow for this functionality. All help is greatly appreciated.

All the best,
Clay

hi @Clay

Welcome to the community! What I understand from your use case is that you need some sort of relationship between boards. So one board for each project and a possibility to report on all of these projects. There are several possibilities here, each with pro’s and con’s.

• Use a dashboard. Dashboards are great to get an overview of information that is stored in different (in your case project) boards. It is easy to setup and can show lost of data (time, status, amounts etc) in many different formats (pie charts, stacked bars and so on. Before jumping in to that please have a look what account plan you are on as the max number of boards per dashboards varies from 1 (basic) to 50 (enterprise).