Purpose of that first column in Work Management

I’m brand new to Monday.com, and 99% of the features still don’t make sense to me! So please bear with me as I try to figure this out.

I had mentioned before that I had an issue getting Leads to import from Excel, and Support told me to import it to Work Management instead. That worked, but it led to another question.

The system wants the first column to be a key of sorts, and it’s required. But I can’t find any documentation on what kind of data should be in that column, or its intended purpose.

I have several columns imported:

COMPANY NAME (text field)
STATUS (a select menu)
ASSIGNED TO (people)
CONTACT NAME (text)
TELEPHONE (text)
EMAIL (text)
WEBSITE (text)
LAST CALLED DATE (date)
FOLLOW UP DATE (date)
NOTES (text)

Should one of these be that first column?

When importing from excel, it’s asking you to designate which column of your excel should be in the first column of the monday board (Item name). My company uses several boards so this is different depending on the board. - for our data hub - this column is the Name of the facility - If your “company name” in your excel is a list of companies then you would choose that as your first column.

Awesome, thanks for the explanation!

Now here’s the trick question:

Once the table already exists, how do I remove the current first column and make another column the first column?

Hey Jason, I’m fairly new here also. But, I’m pretty sure you can’t. I had a similar experience when I first started - and what I ended up doing was re-uploading the excel data.

Thanks, Christina :slight_smile: I just did the same thing: export to Excel, move the columns around where I needed them, delete the original, and re-import the new.

There really should be an easier way…

Hello @GoNC !

Happy that you figured out how to upload your data. I would like to recommend separating your Companies and contacts in different boards, essentially creating a basic CRM.