Managing Creative Work Requests with Google Sheets/Forms, Zapier and monday.com

I’ve been using Monday for almost 3 years now and I’ve evolved how we used it several times with the advent of many new features being added over time. What I’d like to share is how I have been using Monday and what my current workflow is like. But first, let me talk about who we are and how we use it.

I am the Creative Director for a digital media company in North America. I run the Studio department and our biggest client is ourselves which makes us more of an in-house agency but in the last year plus I have been building us into a full Studio that services our clients as well. My team is fairly small (5 total in Studio) but my company is mid-sized (~200). What I needed was a way for someone to put in a request to Studio (that wasn’t in an email) and try to automate that as much as possible. A typical request will be something like this:

We need a :15 video. We need this logo, these images, and this copy.

Here’s what I did and how the process works:

1. I created a Google Form for all Studio Requests. That form has a script in it that does several things once submitted. It:
    a) takes the info in the form, and populates it on a corresponding Google spreadsheet
    b) takes any assets that were uploaded to the form, creates a folder on our Google Drive with the name of the project and puts all the assets in there. It then creates a link to the google drive folder and puts that URL into one of the columns of the spreadsheet
    c) emails the requestor, myself and our project manager a ticket of everything in the request form as a confirmation for the requestor and for a heads up/more info for me.
  2. I set up an 18 step zap on Zapier that pulls all of the info from the Google Spreadsheet and