How can we connect different boards and mirror the status of a common column between them?

I have a Master List of all the contacts in one board (Master Board), and the data is divided into different boards (Lets call them Sub-Boards). Now there can be a common status column in all these boards but so once the status is updated in the Sub-Boards, we should have the same status updated against the contact in the Master Board as well.

In short, I need to “Connect the Boards and Mirror Column Status”

Hi @Conica - there are a number of ways you could tackle this. You could use the new matching automations to match the contact from the sub-board to the master board then mirror the status column from the master down to the sub board. This way it only lives in once place (the master) but appears to live in two.

If the matching is not needed, you could just connect the two together manually and mirror the status.

You could also utilize the vlookup app to achieve this (keep in mind this is a paid app).

Thanks
Mark

Hi Mark,

Thank-you for the reply. I feel the Matching Automation is what that would work for me here. But I cannot see such automation in my account. Is it plan based? If yes, how I can test it, or any tutorial video I can go through to see how this exactly works?

Hi @Conica - if you type “match” into your automations menu it should pull up the three shown below:

Hey Mark,

So I tried both the solutions.

1. I understand how the Manual connecting of the boards and mirroring of columns work. I follow that it will need manual mapping of individual contact. If we want that automated we would need vlookup app like you suggested.

2. I went ahead and tried different combinations from the “Match” automations you shared. But it is not working. Is there any example of this solution I can refer to? May be a tutorial or an image reference of the “Automation Logic” you can share where 2 boards were connected with common column?